Skip to content

Sunscreen

January 9, 2011

While I was young, I never cared even an ounce about my skin, or the bad effects of my actions on it. Poor skin! It endured silently when I abused it with cycle rides at 2.00 PM on summer afternoons, or not even pretending to know what an umbrella is even when the sum exploded with vicious Indian heat. I loved cycling, so much that I would refuse to part with my cycle even after outgrowing it. But whats the logic behind cycling at 2.00 PM? I would never know, but my skin does!

On Saturday afternoons, I would walk back and forth from Ulloor to Kesavadasapuram for tuitions with a dear friend. My skin would just tinge, but the body would revolt with thirst, so all we would do is buy 1 Rs sip ups and sip it along as we walked, gossiping and talking.
The conversations were undeniably great! And my dear friend is still dear irrespective of her having fabulous skin which would heal by morning while mine would sustain the sun injury till the coming 50 years.

Anyway, my skin has had enough. Now, even a pinch of sun as early as 8.00 AM in the morning gives me shivers. I would tan and go red by night! People who know me in person would always make fun of me when I open the umbrella every time I step out into the sun, even when it is shady, but, if I won’t that will be it. No amount of peeling or sitting in a curd bath all night will remove the tan that will result.

So if you are like me and is angry about your skin reacting this way, here is my mantra about saving your skin form the sun.

* Umbrella, always.
* Sunscreen. period.
* Stay away from the harsh sun as much as you can.

* People who know me continuously make fun of me for being an umbrella person, but thats totally ok. If you are concerned about the style quotient, you can always switch up colours or patterns on umbrellas! So fun!

* Sunscreen is an absolute must. Even now, most of us in India seldom use sunscreens. We must. These days i always swear by my sunscreen, because it is one thing which I cannot part with. You must choose a sunscreen that suits your skin and you are comfortable with wearing.

I used to wear Lotus light matte SPF 40 for the last two years.

It is matte and so wont stick to your skin. Also, I used this because at that time, there weren’t any SPF’s higher than 40. But, I am no lover of matte. My skin has a typical wheatish texture and matte would make it a shade darker. Also, somehow, whatever the fashion police advocates about matte, I dont think it is suitable for the Indian skin.
But let me also tell you that I love Lotus for their umpteen other sun protection products. I have a cupboard stacked with Lotus and I plan to review them here too.

I was always on the lookout for sun products, so as soon as Nutrogena came to India, I grabbed their sunscreen.

Verdict: perfect for me! My skin is pimple free and I love a little oily base, so this SPF 70 is absolutely amazing for my skin. It given my skin a warm moisture and my compact can easily put the unwanted sheen at bay. But, if you are prone to pimples, you might want to see if this works for you. It says sheer on the cover, but it is not. It is oily and heavy; but soo good for my skin! I just love that they have upwards to 50 SPF’s. Great for Indian summers.
So try it on and leave a comment if you like it!

Last, try not to expose your skin to the harsh afternoon sun. If your eyes cringe and your skin is uncomfortable, that sun is definitely not doing any good to you.

Stay sun safe, stay fabulous!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 10:06 pm

    It is just crazy to look back on the things we used to do with our skin, right? I used to get sunburned SO badly just because I knew it would turn into a beautiful tan! : )

    • January 21, 2011 10:33 am

      πŸ™‚ So true. I am happy you love your tan though πŸ™‚

  2. January 29, 2011 7:05 pm

    I was just like you when I was younger – I didnt care a bit about my skin. But I do now – at the ripe old age of 26 πŸ™‚

    My mum (who lives in Trivandrum) said the other day she’s in search of a good sunscreen – I’m going to forward this post to her.

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. FabFourLover permalink
    April 26, 2011 12:46 pm

    Love the advice! thanks! the mantra has helped me take care of my skin a lot better! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

