Skip to content

mor·i·bund/ˈmôrəˌbənd/Adjective

November 21, 2010

Disclaimer: This is a true story.
(OK. disclaimer over)

I was attending this session at work last month. It is to do with making us effective communicators, ironing out flaws, pointing our mistakes in subtle ways, encouraging us to acquire a good language. Although it might seem that I am taking sarcastic digs at the session, it is not so. I liked it very much.
So as the session is in progress, our Stella Maris (to be pronounced stella ma-ris, not stella may-ries) educated, respectable and good looking instructor Miss A puts her laptop on the table (to be pronounced taaaaay-ble: it is a diphthong, all you poor British English speaking country people, respect your roots, long live the queen) and tells us to bring one word the next day that the others would not have possibly heard and use it in a sentence.
So the next day comes and my colleague (I MUST say this- mom of two! Are you kidding me? Look at her for God’s sake! so damn pretty!) says this word.

Great figure mom of two colleague: mor·i·bund – pronounced môrəˌbənd. Meaning: In terminal decline; lacking vitality or vigor.

Miss A: Riight. Thank you. So do we have a sentence?

Great figure mom of two colleague: Trivandrum is a moribund place.

End of post.

My own thoughts : What more can I say, Mr. Triv?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 11:59 am

    Cool… Could use it with my project someday!! 😦

    Vivek.

  2. November 24, 2010 8:33 am

    interesting post .. 🙂

  3. Satraa permalink
    November 24, 2010 5:32 pm

    Out of plain curiosity:
    1) Who is this Mom of two?
    2) Is it me alone who finds the term dipthong kinky?

    Love your spirit. I will write something right now!

    • November 25, 2010 5:42 am

      1) 🙂 U might know her. She is in S*****y. Out of respect to her I am not mentioning the name here!

      2) No, it is just not you. Being grammar theory impaired, I was fascinated by this word. It is so having that old world charm right! In fact, I am constantly thinking of Jude law and Robert Downey Jr in Sherlock Holmes! And phantom of the opera and such whimsical thoughts!

      And thank you, please do write!

Leave a Reply

